Rent + Record Quota

May 27, 2016

Day 5 of spending diet

The stride continues.  Rent was paid early and I have met my record purchase quota for the week.  It was noted, that the decision to purchase 1-2 records would be ideal and doable to maintain a healthy spending diet.  One record, per week? No Problemo.  How about two?  No Sweat!  Are they in budget?  Why yes, yes they are.  This weeks purchases are:

1. Air – Moon Safari

wp-1464363713103.jpg

This was a replacement purchase.  I only had this in CD form and it appears to have been missing for some time.   At any rate, this album is breathtaking.  The tracks All I Need and You Make It Easy transport me back to the night I sat on the rooftop of my apartment (for hours) in Chicago, overlooking the Addison EL platform and wondering, “What’s next for me in this life…..”  Even today, right now, I ask this question.

2. Mike Oldfield – Tubular Bells

wp-1464363868718.jpg

This was a first time purchase.  Another Windy memory, Tubular Bells was an honor purchase.  In honor of a special person, from my past, who has an amazing musical palate, which rivals my own. A palate, I grew to love and also adopted into my own.  It is truly a kindness from the universe when you find your music soulmate.  Even though we are worlds apart, now, the music binds us.  The record paints a brilliant psychedelic soundscape that ebbs and flows in what seems like an eternity.  Alas, it only contains two songs that last roughly 25 minutes per side.  Perfect for meditative evening at home.  It’s quiet and loud in all the proper places.

Another neat aspect of this record is its connection with the film, The Exorcist, which un-strangely enough, ties in with the violently wonderful human being this album purchase is dedicated. #CellerDoor<3.

Result: Keep up the good work…..

Today’s track:

Flosstradamus & TroyBoi – Soundclash 

Because I get-down to this on my wobble board…1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8
The gospel (call-and-respond) sample….well placed.

Leave a Reply

